Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Committee on Veterans’ Affairs Organizes and Announces Oversight Plan

Jan 26, 2011
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C.— Today, the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs held its organizational meeting, and approved committee rules, subcommittee membership, and the oversight plan for the 112th Congress.

“I am honored to be chairing this Committee at such a critical time for our nation and its veterans,” commented Chairman of the Full Committee Jeff Miller (FL-01).  “It will be the top priority of this Committee to ensure stringent oversight over veterans’ programs.  We must ensure that taxpayer dollars are being used efficiently to provide the best services and world class health care to nation’s warriors and their families.”

“I am also proud of the Committee’s bipartisan oversight plan that lays out an aggressive agenda that includes 79 specific items,” continued Miller.  “I consider this plan a basic blueprint for our oversight activities but, it is not exclusive and I expect to expand on it throughout the Congress.”

A copy of the oversight plan can be found by clicking HERE.

The Committee also approved Subcommittee membership including Chair and Ranking positions.  This list is as follows:


Full Committee

Majority Members  Minority Members
Jeff Miller (FL), Chairman Bob Filner (CA), Ranking Democratic Member
Gus Bilirakis (FL), Vice-Chairman Corinne Brown (FL)
Cliff Stearns (FL) Silvestre Reyes (TX)
Doug Lamborn (CO) Mike Michaud (ME)
David P. Roe (TN) Linda Sanchez (CA)
Dan Benishek (MI) Bruce Braley (IA)
Ann Marie Buerkle (NY) Jerry McNerney (CA)
Jeff Denham (CA) Vacancy
Bill Flores (TX) Vacancy
Tim Huelskamp (KS) Vacancy
Bill Johnson (OH) Vacancy Vacancy
Jon Runyan (NJ)  
Marlin Stutzman (IN)  

Subcommittee on Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs

Jon Runyan (NJ), Chair Jerry McNerney (CA), Ranking Democratic Member
Doug Lamborn (CO) Vacancy  
Ann Marie Buerkle (NY) Vacancy  
Marlin Stutzman (IN) Vacancy  

Subcommittee on Economic Opportunity

Marlin Stutzman (IN), Chair Bruce Braley (IA), Ranking Democratic Member
Gus Bilirakis (FL) Vacancy  
Bill Johnson (OH) Vacancy  
Tim Huelskamp (KS)  
Jeff Denham (CA)  

Subcommittee on Health

Ann Marie Buerkle (NY), Chair Michael Michaud (ME), Ranking Democratic Member
Gus Bilirakis (FL) Corrine Brown (FL)
Dan Benishek (MI) Silvestre Reyes (TX)
Jeff Denham (CA) Vacancy
Jon Runyan (NJ) Vacancy

 Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Bill Johnson (OH) Chair Vacancy
Cliff Stearns (FL) Vacancy
Phil Roe (TN) Vacancy
Dan Benishek (MI) Vacancy
Bill Flores (TX)  


112th Congress